SHIS QI 05 - Cj 20 - Cs 20 - Lago Sul

line decor
line decor

Country Basic Facts


The State Organs

The Tatmadaw (Armed Forces) in the name of the State Law and Order Restoration Council (SLORC) assumed state responsibility on 18 September 1988 to save the country from widespread anarchism and danger of disintegration. It is made up of the Chairman and 20 other members. The SLORC, by nature and by reason of its historical development, is a military government. The 1974 Constitution is no longer in force, but provisions such as the State Flag and structure of the State have been retained. However, socialist provisions like one-party system and socialist economic system have been annulled. The name of the country has also been redesignated as "The Union of Myanmar".

The SLORC exercises legislative, executive and judicial powers. Although it has martial law power from the time of its assumption of duties, the SLORC refrained from exercising martial law as far as possible. It directs, supervises and co-ordinates the work of the central and local organs of state power.

The following Central Organs of State have been formed to implement the tasks laid down by the State Law and Order Restoration Council.

 The government of the Union of Myanmar is composed of 40 members including the Prime Minister, 2 Deputy Prime Ministers and 37 other Ministers.

By its Declaration No.5/88 of 27 September 1988, the State Law and Order Restoration Council appointed a Supreme Court with five members as the highest judicial court in the country. The Supreme Court is headed by Chief Justice U Aung Toe.


The State Law and Order Restoration Council has also appointed U Tha Tun as Attorney-General and U Aung Khin Tint as Auditor-General. The Attorney-General's office undertakes the interpretation of law in the country.

 Law and Order Restoration Councils (local administrative bodies) have been formed for every State, Division, District, Township and Ward/Village Sector.





    Copyright © All rights reserved.